The Central Hockey League (CHL) in its present incarnation is an American professional hockey league playing at the minor double-A level. It was created for the 1992-1993 season with six inaugural teams, all of whom remain in existence today. After several experiments in expansion and a long battle for players and markets with the Western Professional Hockey League (WPHL), the two merged in 2001. Some teams are affiliated with AHL and NHL clubs for player development.

The league is divided into four divisions. Active teams, listed by division and with their affiliated teams (NHL, AHL), include:

Northeast Division

Northwest Division

Southeast Division

Southwest Division

  • Amarillo Gorillas
  • Lubbock Cotton Kings
  • Odessa Jackalopes (Edmonton Oilers, Toronto Roadrunners)
  • San Angelo Saints

Former CHL teams include:

  • Border City Bandits (Texarkana, TX)
  • Columbus Cottonmouths (Columbus, GA - now members of ECHL)
  • Dallas Freeze
  • El Paso Buzzards
  • Fayetteville (NC) Force
  • Fort Worth Fire
  • Huntsville (AL) Channel Cats/Tornado
  • Macon Whoopee (ECHL)
  • Nashville Ice Flyers/Nighthawks
  • San Antonio Iguanas
  • Topeka ScareCrows

External links

Official CHL website