Formosa Province is in northeastern Argentina, part of the Chaco Region. Its northeast end touches Asunción, Paraguay, and borders the provinces of Chaco and Salta to its south and west, respectively. The capital is Formosa.

The native language of Pilagá is spoken in central and western Formosa.

Table of contents
1 History
2 Departments
3 Cities
4 External links


On June 15, 1955, Formosa Territory became a province.


Nine departments:


Principal cities are:
  • Formosa
  • Clorinda
  • Espinillo
  • Pirané
  • San Francisco de Laishí
  • Comandante Fontana
  • Laguna Yema
  • Ingeniero Juárez
  • General Enrique Mosconi

External links