The Iowa Writers' Workshop at the University of Iowa in Iowa City, Iowa is the preeminent college and graduate-level creative writing program in the United States.

Created in the university's English Department by poet Paul Engle, the program is the model for the numerous creative writing programs offered throughout the country today.

Notable graduates of the program include:

T. Coraghessan Boyle
Raymond Carver
Sandra Cisneros
Andre Dubus
Stuart Dybek
Robert Bly
John Irving
Gish Jen
Tracy Kidder
W.P. Kinsella
Phil Levine
David Wong Louie
Bharati Mukherjee
Flannery O'Connor
Wallace Stegner
Jane Smiley
John Edgar Wideman