Lanzarote, a Spanish island, is the easternmost of the Canary Islands, in the Atlantic Ocean off the coast of Africa. It is situated at 29°00' north, 13°40' west.

The elongated island has an area of 845,9 km².

It is part of the province of Las Palmas. It is divided into seven municipalities:

  • Arrecife
  • Haría
  • San Bartolomé
  • Teguise
  • Tías
  • Tinajo
  • Yaiza

A nearby island, Isla de La Graciosa, is part of the municipality of Teguise, as are four smaller islets.

The seat of the island government (cabildo insular) is in Arrecife. A total of 109 942 people (2002) live on the island.

External link