The following List of German Confederation member states shows those German states that in 1815 were part of the German Confederation, which lasted, with some changes in the member states, until 1866.

  1. The Empire of Austria (without Galicia, Hungary, Transylvania, Bukowina, Dalmatia and Croatia)
  2. The Kingdom of Prussia (without Province of Posen, East Prussia and West Prussia)
    1. Brandenburg
    2. Pommern
    3. Rheinland (until 1822, Niederrhein and Jülich-Kleve-Berg)
    4. Province of Saxony
    5. Province of Silesia
    6. Westphalia
  3. The Kingdom of Bavaria
  4. The Kingdom of Saxony
  5. The Kingdom of Hanover
  6. The Kingdom of Württemberg
  7. The Grand Duchy of Baden
  8. The Electorate of Hesse-Kassel
  9. The Grand Duchy of Hesse-Darmstadt
  10. The Duchy of Holstein (and Schleswig, from 1848)
  11. The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
  12. The Duchy of Limburg (from 1839)
  13. The Duchy of Brunswick
  14. The Grand Duchy of Mecklenburg-Schwerin
  15. The Duchy of Nassau
  16. The Grand Duchy of Saxe-Weimar-Eisenach
  17. The Duchy of Saxe-Gotha-Altenburg (to 1825)
  18. The Duchy of Saxe-Coburg-Saalfeld (Saxe-Coburg-Gotha from 1826)
  19. The Duchy of Saxe-Meiningen
  20. The Duchy of Saxe-Hildburghausen (Saxe-Altenburg from 1826)
  21. The Grand Duchy of Mecklenburg-Strelitz
  22. The Duchy of Oldenburg (Grand Duchy from 1829)
  23. The Duchy of Anhalt-Dessau (Duchy of Anhalt from 1863)
  24. The Duchy of Anhalt-Bernburg (to 1863)
  25. The Duchy of Anhalt-Köthen (to 1847)
  26. The Principality of Schwarzburg-Sondershausen
  27. The Principality of Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt
  28. The Principality of Hohenzollern-Hechingen (to 1850)
  29. The Principality of Liechtenstein
  30. The Principality of Hohenzollern-Sigmaringen (to 1850)
  31. The Principality of Waldeck
  32. The Principality of Reuß Senior Line
  33. The Principality of Reuß Junior Line
  34. The Principality of Schaumburg-Lippe
  35. The Principality of Lippe
  36. The Langraviate of Hesse-Homburg (from 1817)
  37. The Duchy of Lauenburg
  38. The Free City of Lübeck
  39. The Free City of Frankfurt am Main
  40. The Free City of Bremen
  41. The Free City of Hamburg