This is a list of computer motherboard chipsets made by Intel. It is divided into two main categories: those which use the PCI bus for interconnection (the 4x0 series) and those which connect using specialised "Hub Links" (the 8xx and Exxxx series). The chipsets are listed in chronological order.

Table of contents
1 4x0 chipsets
2 8xx and Exxxx Chipsets
3 Future Chipsets

4x0 chipsets

80486 Chipsets

Pentium Chipsets

  • 430LX (Mercury)
  • 430NX (Neptune)
    • Improved version of 430LX, supported up to 512MB of cached memory, lower voltages on Socket 5 motherboards and dual processing. Also supported EISA in certain configurations.
  • 430FX (Triton)
    • Added EDO support, as well as integrating a disk controller and certain other mainboard level functions.
  • 430VX (Triton II)
    • Added support for SDRAM and updated PCI spec to 2.1.
  • 430HX (Triton II-A)
    • 430FX with support for dual processors, PCI 2.1 and higher memory capacity.
  • 430MX
    • 430FX optimised for use in portable computers.
  • 430TX (Triton III)
    • 430VX with support for higher RAM densities, also added ATA-33 support.

Pentium Pro/II/III Chipsets

8xx and Exxxx Chipsets

Pentium II/III Chipsets

Pentium 4 Chipsets

  • 850 (Tehama)
    • Used RDRAM, feature set identical to 815EP.
      • Sub-versions:
      • 850E - Supports 533MHz bus, otherwise identical.
  • 860 (Colusa)
    • Xeon version of 850. Supports dual-processors and 66Mhz PCI.
  • 845 (Brookdale)
  • 845G (Brookdale-G)
    • Integrated graphics core, USB 2.0 and 533MHz bus. Officially runs DDR memory at up to 266MHz, but design error allowed stable operation at 333MHz.
      • Sub-versions:
      • 845GE - Official support for 333MHz DDR memory, and slightly faster graphics core. Fixed Hyper-Threading support, which was unstable in early versions of 845G.
      • 845PE - Offically an 845E with support for 333MHz DDR memory. In reality an 845GE with the graphics core removed.
  • E7500 (Plumas)
    • Similar feature set to 860, but uses dual-channel SDRAM, and has support for PCI-X, but no AGP.
      • Sub-versions:
      • E7501 - Mostly the same as E7500, but with support for 533MHz bus and USB 2.0.
      • E7505 (Placer) - E7501 with AGP 8x.
  • E7205 (Granite Bay)
    • Workstation chipset, supports AGP 8x and dual-channel SDRAM. Other features are the same as 845PE.
  • 875P (Canterwood)
    • Similar to E7205, but adds support for 800MHz bus, DDR at 400MHz, Communications Streaming Architecture (CSA), Serial ATA (with RAID in certain configurations) and PAT, a mode deigned to cut down memory latency.
  • 865PE (Springdale)
    • 875P without PAT, though it was possible to enable PAT in some early revisions. Also lacks ECC Memory support.
      • Sub-versions:
      • 865P - 865PE, but only support 533MHz bus and 333MHz memory.
      • 848P - Single memory channel version of 865PE.
  • 865G (Springdale-G)
    • 865PE with integrated graphics. PAT never supported in any revisions.
      • Sub-versions:
      • 865GL - 865G without external AGP slot.

Itanium Chipsets

  • 460GX
    • A 4x0 series chipset in name, but actually uses "expander buses", similar in design to Hub-Link. Supports Quad-Channel 100MHz SDRAM and PCI-X.
  • E8870
    • Supports 400MHz bus on Itanium 2. Memory interface is natively Quad-Channel 800MHz RDRAM, but uses Memory Repeater Hubs to support DDR memory.

Future Chipsets