Diseases which must, by law, be reported to governmental authorities by medical practitioners are called notifiable diseases or reportable diseases.

United States

Notifiable diseases in the United States used to vary according to individual state's laws. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the CSTE also produced a list of nationally notifiable diseases which health officials should report to the CDC's National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System (NNDSS). A uniform criteria for disease reporting to the NNDSS was introduced in 1990.

Not notifiable, but recommended for surveillance:

Source: public domain resource CDC document "Case Definitions for Infectious Conditions Under Public Health Surveillance" ftp://ftp.cdc.gov/pub/Publications/mmwr/rr/rr4610.pdf

United Kingdom

  • Anthrax
  • Cholera
  • Diphtheria
  • Dysentery
  • Encephalitis, acute
  • Food poisoning or suspected food poisoning
  • Haemorrhagic fever, viral
  • Hepatitis, viral
  • Leptospirosis
  • Malaria
  • Meningitis
  • Meningoccal septicaemia (without meningitis)
  • Mumps
  • Ophthalmia neonatorum
  • Paratyphoid fever
  • Plague
  • Poliomyelitis, acute
  • Rabies
  • Relapsing fever
  • Rubella
  • Scarlet fever
  • Tetanus
  • Tuberculosis (TB)
  • Typhoid fever
  • Typhus
  • Whooping cough
  • Yellow fever

Source: National Health Service web site at http://www.nhsatoz.org/pls/hfht/docs/FOLDER/HFH_CONTENT/ATOZ/NOTIFIABLE+DISEASES+AND+RIDDOR.HTM