\nMonroe County is a county located in the State of Wisconsin. As of 2000, the population is 40,899. Its county seat is Sparta6.

Table of contents
1 Geography
2 Demographics
3 Cities and towns


\nAccording to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,352 km² (908 mi²). 2,333 km² (901 mi²) of it is land and 19 km² (8 mi²) of it is water. The total area is 0.83% water.


\nAs of the
census2 of 2000, there are 40,899 people, 15,399 households, and 10,794 families residing in the county. The population density is 18/km² (45/mi²). There are 16,672 housing units at an average density of 7/km² (18/mi²). The racial makeup of the county is 96.52% White, 0.46% Black or African American, 0.92% Native American, 0.48% Asian, 0.04% Pacific Islander, 0.85% from other races, and 0.74% from two or more races. 1.81% of the population are Hispanic or Latino of any race. There are 15,399 households out of which 34.50% have children under the age of 18 living with them, 56.70% are married couples living together, 8.80% have a female householder with no husband present, and 29.90% are non-families. 25.00% of all households are made up of individuals and 10.70% have someone living alone who is 65 years of age or older. The average household size is 2.60 and the average family size is 3.11. In the county, the population is spread out with 28.10% under the age of 18, 7.70% from 18 to 24, 27.50% from 25 to 44, 22.80% from 45 to 64, and 13.90% who are 65 years of age or older. The median age is 37 years. For every 100 females there are 101.50 males. For every 100 females age 18 and over, there are 99.60 males.

Cities and towns

Adrian\n*Angelo\n*Byron\n*Cashton\n*Clifton\n*Glendale\n*Grant\n*Greenfield\n*Jefferson\n*Kendall\n*La Grange\n*Lafayette\n*Leon\n*Lincoln\n*Little Falls\n*Melvina\n*New Lyme\n*Norwalk\n*Oakdale\n*Portland\n*Ridgeville\n*Scott\n*Sheldon\n*Sparta\n*Tomah\n*Warrens\n*Wellington\n*Wells\n*Wilton\n*Wyeville