Roger Zelazny (May 13, 1937 - June 14, 1995) was a US writer of fantasy and science fiction short stories and novels.
He won the Hugo award six times, including twice for the novels Lord of Light (1968) and ...And Call Me Conrad (1966) which was later published as This Immortal.

Zelazny had a rare gift for conceiving and portraying worlds with plausible magic systems, powers, and supernatural beings. His captivating descriptions of the nuts and bolts of magical workings in his imagined worlds set his writing apart from otherwise similar authors. He was a prolific writer, and with the exception of the Amber novels (and the pairs Madwand/Changeling and Isle of the Dead/To Die in Italbar, which are related), created a completely new setting for each book.

Table of contents
1 Amber Novels
2 Other Significant Books
3 External links

Amber Novels

While his earlier works won greater critical acclaim, Zelazny is probably best known for the Amber novels. These fall into two distinct series.

The first five describe the adventures of Prince Corwin of Amber and comprise:

The second series, published several years later tell the story of Corwin's son Merlin - a wizard and a computer expert.
These volumes are:

Other Significant Books

  • Creatures of Light and Darkness (1969)
  • Isle of the Dead (1969)
  • Damnation Alley (1969) (also a film)
  • Jack of Shadows (1971)
  • Doorways in the Sand (1976)
  • Roadmarks (1979)
  • Madwand (1981)
  • The Changing Land (1981)
  • Eye of Cat (1982)
  • The Black Throne (1990) (with Fred Saberhagen)

  • The Millennium Contest series (with Robert Sheckley):
    • Bring Me the Head of Prince Charming (1991)
    • If At Faust You Don't Succeed (1993)
    • A Farce to Be Reckoned With (1995)

  • Flare (1992) (with Thomas Timoux Thomas)

Eye of Cat (1982) was arguably the last of his best work. Later collaborative works appear to be primarily the work of the other author. The last few Amber novels are disappointingly formulaic.

External links