The Saami languages are languages from the Finno-Ugric languages group, spoken by the Saami people of Lapland.

In 2001 there were around ten known Saami languages. Six of these have a standard written language, the four others are literally not in use i.e. there are fewer than 100 people that speak them. The six written languages are:

  • Northern Saami (Norway, Sweden, Finland)
    This accounts for probably more than 75% of all Saami speakers in 2002. There have been a number of grammars for this dialect, but in 1948 a common grammar was created, and was last modified in 1985. It uses seven characters not found in Scandinavian or Finnish:
    • a-acute (/)
    • c-caron (Č/č)
    • d-stroke (Đ/đ)
    • eng (Ŋ/ŋ)
    • s-caron (/)
    • t-stroke (Ŧ/ŧ)
    • z-caron (/)

  • Lule Saami (Norway, Sweden)
    Common grammar but with fewer special characters (only a-acute and n-acute). The character n-acute (Ń/ń) is the eng sound found in the Norwegian word "sang". Instead of n-acute (found in Unicode, but not in ASCII), many use or even ng.

  • Southern Saami (Norway, Sweden)
    Written using Norwegian or Swedish characters, some variants of Swedish or Norwegian and .

  • Enare Saami (Finland)
    This dialect uses seven special characters.

  • Skolte Saami (Finland, also previously in Norway and Russia)

  • Kildin Saami (Russia)
    Uses cyrillic typesetting, Russian characters with some special characters.

External link and reference