The United Nations Prizes in the Field of Human Rights were instituted by a General Assembly resolution in 1966. They are intended to "honour and commend people and organisations which have made an outstanding contribution to the promotion and protection of the human rights embodied in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and in other United Nations human rights instruments".

They were first awarded in 1968, and they have been given out at five-year intervals since then. The award ceremony traditionally takes place on 10 December, which the UN has designated Human Rights Day. The recipients are selected by a special committee comprising the presidents of the General Assembly and the Economic and Social Council and the chairs of the Commission on Human Rights, the Commission on the Status of Women, and the Sub-Commission on the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights.

The physical token of the award is a metal plaque bearing the UN seal and an artistic design, and engraved with an appropriate citation. In contrast to the Nobel prizes, the UN awards are nonmonetary in nature.

Table of contents
1 2003 Awardees
2 1998 Awardees
3 1993 Awardees
4 1988 Awardees
5 1978 Awardees
6 1973 Awardees
7 1968 Awardees

2003 Awardees

1998 Awardees

1993 Awardees

1988 Awardees

1978 Awardees

1973 Awardees

1968 Awardees