The University of Leipzig is one of the oldest universities in Europe. It was founded in the early 15th century and was originally comprised of four faculties. Today it has grown to 14 faculties and with over 25.000 students Leipzig hosts Saxony's second largest university. Since its inception the university enjoyed almost 600 years of uninterrupted teaching and research. There are now more than 150 institutes and the university offers 190 study programs leading to a diplomas, Master's degrees and teaching qualifications. Arguably, the Faculty of Medicine is the university's most renowned faculty. It was founded in 1415.

Table of contents
1 History
2 Faculties
3 People Associated With The University of Leipzig
4 References
5 External links


The 'Alma mater Lipsiensis' opened on 2 December 1409 after it had been officially endorsed by Pope Alexander V in his Bull of Acknowledgment on 9 September 1409. Its first rector was Johann von Münsterberg.


The original four facilities were the Faculty of Arts, Theology, Medicine, and Law. Today, the university comprises the following 14 faculties.

  • Faculty of Theology
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of History, Art and Oriental Studies
  • Faculty of Philology
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Social Sciences and Philosophy
  • Faculty of Economics and Management (incl. Civil Engineering)
  • Faculty of Sports Science
  • Faculty of Medicine (and a University Hospital)
  • Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Faculty of Biosciences, Pharmacy and Psychology
  • Faculty of Physics and Earth Science
  • Faculty of Chemistry and Mineralogy
  • Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

People Associated With The University of Leipzig

The University of Leipzig in the past has attracted a number of renowned scholars. Among the great minds that shaped the profile of the university are:
The following illustrious students have spent their earlier years at Leipzig.


External links