Zhejiang (浙江) is a southeast coastal province of the People's Republic of China. Zhejiang means winding river in Chinese.

Province Abbreviation(s): 浙
Capital Hangzhou
 - Total
 - % water
Ranked 24th
101,800 km²
 - Total (2000)
 - Density
Ranked 10th
Administration Type Province

Table of contents
1 History
2 Geography
3 Economy
4 Demographics
5 Culture
6 Tourism
7 Miscellaneous topics
8 Colleges and universities
9 External links



Zhejiang is on the south side of the Yangtze river delta and is close to Shanghai (which is located north of the province).

The southern end of the Grand Canal of China is located in Hangzhou.

Zhejiang is divided into ten prefecture-level cities and one prefecture at the sub-provincial level: Hangzhou, Ningbo, Wenzhou, Jiaxing, Huzhou, Shaoxing, Jinhua, Quzhou, Zhoushan, Taizhou, and Liushui Prefecture. There are also 39 counties, 25 cities, and 24 districts at the county level.


The province is also known as the "Land of Fish and Rice", and also produces silk and tea. Significant mechanical manufacturing happens there as well.

Commercial ports, by order of importance: Ningbo, Wenzhou, Zhoushan.



Like Fujian, Zhejiang is extremely linguistically diverse. The inhabitants of Zhejiang speak Wu dialect but with the dialect becoming unintelligible every few kilometers.

The She and Hui nationalities are the two largest minorities.


Tourist destinations in Zhejiang include:

  • The ancient capital of Hangzhou
  • Shaoxing and other waterway towns
  • Tiantai Shan, a mountain important to Zen Buddhism
  • Putuo Shan, one of the most famous Buddhist mountains of China. Chinese Buddhists associate it with Guan Yin.
  • Yandang Shan, a scenic area north of Wenzhou

Miscellaneous topics

Colleges and universities

External links