Arthur Meighen
Rank:9th (1920-1921, 1926)
Date of Birth:June 16, 1874
Place of Birth:Anderson, Ontario
Spouse:Isabel J. Cox
Political Party:Conservative, Unionist

Arthur Meighen (June 16, 1874 - August 5, 1960) was the ninth Prime Minister of Canada from July 10, 1920 to December 29, 1921 and June 29 to September 25, 1926.

Meighen was born in Anderson, Ontario, Canada. He graduated from at the University of Toronto, gaining a B.A. in Mathematics in 1896. In 1904 he married Isabel J. Cox (1882 - 1985) with whom he had two sons and one daughter.

Meighen experimented in several professions, including those of teacher, lawyer and businessman before becoming involved in politics as a member of the Conservative party of Canada. In 1919, as Minister of Justice in the government of Robert Laird Borden, he helped put down the Winnipeg General Strike. In 1920 he became leader of the Conservative Party when Borden resigned, and led the party from 1920 to 1926 and 1941 to 1942. Although he is often considered the one of the greatest intellects and public speakers to have served in Parliament, he served only two short periods as Prime Minister of Canada.

After the Conscription Crisis of 1917 and the Winnipeg General Strike, the Conservatives had lost of their popularity. Meighen lost of the 1921 election to William Lyon Mackenzie King, but he briefly regained power after the inconclusive election of 1925. He was invited to form a government by Lord Byng, the Governor General, as part of the "King-Byng affair" (see the article on Lord Byng). He promptly called an election in 1926, but he and his party were swept from office and Meighen soon resigned as Conservative Party leader. He later served in the Senate and made a brief return to elective politics in 1942.

Arthur Meighen died in Toronto, Ontario on August 5, 1960 and was buried in St. Marys Cemetery, St. Marys, Ontario, near his birthplace.

Prime Minister of Canada
Preceded by:
Robert Borden
First leadership (1920-1921) Followed by:
Mackenzie King
Preceded by:
Mackenzie King
Second leadership (1926) Followed by:
Mackenzie King