Dhaka (ধাক), population 6,844,131 (1991), is the capital of Bangladesh. The city is situated on a channel of the Dhaleswari River, in the heart of the world's largest jute-growing region. It is the industrial, commercial, and administrative center of Bangladesh, with trade in jute, rice, oilseeds, sugar, and tea. Manufactures include textiles and jute products. Dhaka is famous for its handicrafts.

Dhaka's history dates back to the year 1000, but the city achieved glory as the capital of Mughal Bengal. The city passed to British rule in 1765. It became the capital of East Pakistan in 1947. In 1971, the city became capital of the provisional government of an independent Bangladesh. It was formerly known under the spelling Dacca.

Landmarks include:

  • the Dakeshwari ("hidden goddess") temple, from which the city probably derives its name
  • the Bara Katra palace
  • the Lal Bagh fort
  • the National Assembly building, designed by the architect Louis Kahn

The University of Dhaka and other higher educational facilities and agriculture research institutes are also in the city. The surrounding district is very densely populated and subject to heavy monsoon floods.

An older English spelling of the name is Dacca.