This article is about the broad family of birds. For other meanings, see Eagle (disambiguation).


Closeup view of an Australian Wedge-tailed Eagle showing the hooked beak.
Scientific classification
Phylum: Chordata
Class: Aves
Order: Accipitriformes*
Family: Accipitridae
Genera: Aquila, Haliaeetus, Pithecophaga, Circaetus

(*) Scientists argue whether Accipitriformes are a separate order, or belong to the Falconiformes.

Eagles large predatory birds, which are found in almost all parts of the world. They are members of the bird of prey order Falconiformes, family Accipitridae. They belong to several different genera.

The eagle has been used by many nations as a national symbol, depicting both power and beauty. The Ptolemaic rulers of Egypt used it as their seal, while the Romans used it on the standards of their armies. The United States adopted the North American Bald Eagle as its national emblem.

Like all birds of prey, eagles have very large powerful hooked beaks for tearing flesh from their prey, strong legs and powerful talons. They also have extremely keen eyesight to enable them to spot potential prey from a distance.


Genus Aquila. Typical eagles.

Lesser-spotted Eagle

Steppe Eagle

Genus Haliaeetus, Sea eagles:

  • Bald Eagle Haliaeetus leucocephalus
  • White-tailed Eagle Haliaeetus albicilla
  • White-bellied Sea Eagle Haliaeetus leucogaster
  • Steller's Sea Eagle Haliaeetus pelagicus
  • African Fish-eagle Haliaeetus vocifer
  • Pallas' Sea Eagle Haliaeetus leucoryphus
  • Sanford' Sea Eagle Haliaeetus sanfordi
  • Madacascar Sea Eagle Haliaeetus vociferoides

Genus Pithecophaga, Monkey-eating eagles: Genus Circaetus, Snake eagles: Genus Harpia, harpy eagle Genus Harpyopsis, harpy eagle
  • New Guinean Harpy Eagle, Harpyopsis novaeguineae

Genus Harpagornis†, Haast's Eagle Genus Geranoaetus, Buzzard Eagle
  • Black-chested Buzzard Eagle, Geranoaetus melanoleucus

The Bald Eagle and the Golden Eagle are the only eagles native to North America.

External link