The East Midlands is one of the regions of England and consists of most of the eastern half of the tradional region of the Midlands. Its main cities are Derby, Leicester and Nottingham. It is divided into the following local government areas:

East Midlands

Table of contents
1 Counties
2 Unitary Authority Areas
3 External link


See Counties of England

Unitary Authority Areas

Unitary authorities in England

  • Derby (formerly part of Derbyshire)
  • Leicester (formerly part of Leicestershire)
  • Nottingham (formerly part of Nottinghamshire)
  • Rutland (between 1965 and 1999, part of Leicestershire)

The East Midlands is also a six-member constituency for the European Parliament. Its MEPs are

  • Nicholas Clegg (Lib Dem)
  • Christopher Heaton-Harris (Conservative)
  • Roger Helmer (Conservative)
  • Bill Newton Dunn (Lib Dem)
  • Mel Read (Labour)
  • Phillip Whitehead (Labour)

EMDA, the East Midlands Development Agency, holds funds from central government to enable regeneration.

There is an East Midlands Airport between the three main cities, and the region is served by Midland Mainline high-speed trains to London. The M1 motorway also serves the three.

Local media includes

  • The East Midlands region of BBC Television, based in Nottingham which produces several regional television programs, including the news program East Midlands Today. This excludes Northamptonshire.
  • Midlands Asian Television, based in Leicester, which caters to the areas large South Asian population.
  • BBC Radios Derby, Leicester, Lincolnshire, Northampton and Nottingham. Radio Leicester was the first local radio station in the United Kingdom.
  • Many commercial radio stations: Leicester Sound, Trent FM [Nottingham/Derby], and Lincs FM

External link

Government Office for the East Midlands