The Federal League was an attempt to establish a third major league in baseball in the United States. The league had started as a minor league in 1913 as the Columbia League. It is considered by Major League Baseball to have been a major league from 1914-1915. The FL consisted of 8 teams each season. The Chicago team played Weeghman Park that is better known today as Wrigley Field. After the 1915 season the owners of the American League and National League bought out the owners of the Federal League.

Federal League Champions

  • 1914 Indianapolis (No official nickname)
  • 1915 Chicago Whales

Federal League Teams

  • Baltimore Terrapins
  • Brooklyn Tip Tops
  • Buffalo Blues
  • Chicago Whales
  • Indianapolis (1914)/ Newark Peppers (1915)
  • Kansas City Packers
  • Pittsburgh Rebels
  • St. Louis Terriers