Fluminense is a Brazilian football team from Rio de Janeiro in Brazil, founded on July 21, 1902.

Nominal home stadium is the Laranjeiras, capacity 8,000 but the team plays in the Maracanã which holds 120,000. They play in Colours: Shirt with thin white and thick green and maroon vertical stripes, white shorts and white socks.

Its biggest rivals are from the same city: Flamengo, Botafogo and Vasco da Gama. Fluminense means both fluvial and natural from Rio de Janeiro.

The other big teams from Brazil (including the four mentioned) are: Corinthians, Santos, Palmeiras, São Paulo, Atlético Mineiro, Grêmio, Cruzeiro and Internacional.


  • Brazilian Champions 1984.
  • Twenty-eight state championships.

Some Famous Players

  • Altair
  • Bigode
  • Castilho
  • Didi
  • Gerson
  • Hércules
  • Marcos Carneiro de Mendonça
  • Orlando Pingo de Ouro
  • Pinheiro
  • Preguinho
  • Rivelino
  • Romeu
  • Telê Santana
  • Tim
  • Veludo