The Green Bay Packers are a National Football League team based in Green Bay, Wisconsin.

Founded: 1919. Joined the NFL in 1921.
Formerly known as:
Home stadium: Lambeau Field, Green Bay, Wisconsin
Uniform colors: Green and gold
Helmet design: Yellow background, with a white "G" in a green oval
League championships won: Before playoff system (by league standing) 1929, 1930, 1931, since playoff system 1936, 1939, 1944, 1961, 1962, 1965, 1966, 1967, 1996
Super Bowls: I (won), II (won), XXXI (won), XXXII (lost)

Table of contents
1 Franchise history
2 Players of note
3 External link

Franchise history

The Packers have won more world championships (12) than any other professional football team. They are also the only professional football team to win three straight titles, which they did twice (1929, 1930, 1931, and 1965, 1966, 1967).

The Green Bay Packers of the 1960s were one of the most dominant NFL teams of all time. Coach Vince Lombardi took over a last-place team and built it into a juggernaut, winning five league championships over a seven-year span. Green Bay won the first two Super Bowls.

Players of note

Pro Football Hall of Famers: Current stars:
  • Marques Anderson
  • Gilbert Brown
  • Donald Driver
  • Brett Favre
  • Mike Flanagan
  • Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila
  • Ahman Green
  • William Henderson
  • Ryan Longwell
  • Darren Sharper
  • Frank Winters

Retired numbers:
  • Tony Canadeo #3
  • Don Hutson #14
  • Bart Starr #15
  • Ray Nitschke #66
  • Reggie White #92 (Recently, the NFL has discouraged the retiring of numbers, therefore they have retired his jersey and not his #92.)

Not to be forgotten:
  • Jerry Kramer (author of Instant Replay)
  • Sterling Sharpe
  • John Brockington

External link