The Kansas City Chiefs are a National Football League team based in Kansas City, Missouri.

Franchise Founded: 1959
First Season: 1960 (charter AFL member; joined NFL in 1970 league merger)
Formerly known as: Dallas Texans, 1960-62, then moved to Kansas City (1963-).
Uniform colors: Red, White, and Gold
Helmet design: Red helmet with white arrowhead bearing initials K.C.
League championships won: AFL 1962, 1966, 1969
AFC West Championships: 1971, 1993, 1995, 1997, 2003
AFC Championships: None
Super Bowl appearances: I (lost), IV (won)

Home stadium: Arrowhead Stadium
Stadiums Played In:
Cotton Bowl (1960-1962)
Municipal Stadium (1963-1971)
Arrowhead Stadium (1972-Present)

Current President: Carl Peterson (he is also the General Manager and CEO) [2003]
Current coach: Dick Vermeil [2003]

Table of contents
1 Franchise history
2 Chiefs of note
3 Related Links

Franchise history

The team is owned by Lamar Hunt, who founded the team along with their original league, the American Football League, in 1960. The Dallas Texans, as they were known then, defeated the Houston Oilers in a dramatic 1962 AFL championship which went into double overtime. The Dallas Texans moved to Kansas City in 1963.

The Texans/Chiefs franchise was the flagship team of the American Football League, with the most playoff appearances as an AFL team, six (tied with Oakland), the most American Football League Championships (3), and the most Super Bowl appearances, playing in the first Super Bowl, and in the last to be played between League champions. The Texans won the classic 1962 double-overtime AFL championship game against the Houston Oilers, 20 - 17, at the time the longest, and still one of the best professional football championship games ever played. The Chiefs dropped the first Super Bowl to the Packers, then pulverized the Vikings 23 - 7 in the final "true" AFL-NFL World Championsip game after the AFL's last season in 1969. They have the largest presence in the American Football League Hall of Fame, with 24 representatives, and they had just one coach throughout their AFL history, Hall-of-Famer Hank Stram.

The Kansas City Chiefs' (under Dallas Texans name) first stadium was at 22nd and Brooklyn, called "Municipal Stadium". Municipal Stadium opened in 1923 and had 49,002 seats. In 1971, Municipal Stadium was abandoned in favor of the new Arrowhead Stadium. Municipal Stadium was demolished in 1976, it is now a community garden. The Chiefs first game at Arrowhead Stadium was against the St. Louis Cardinals (Chiefs 24, St. Louis Cardinals 14).

As the Chiefs, under coach Hank Stram, the team played in the first Super Bowl, losing 35-10 to Vince Lombardi's Green Bay Packers. They earned revenge three years later, upsetting the Minnesota Vikings 23-7. The team won 43 games between 1966 and 1969. The Chiefs had only two winning seasons between 1974 and 1986. They did not get to the playoffs for 15 straight years.

In 1989, Carl Peterson became the team's new President and General Manager. Peterson hired Marty Schottenheimer as the team's coach. Marty Schottenheimer helped establish six straight playoff appearances, three AFC West championships, nine winning seasons, and 76 consecutive soldout games at Arrowhead. Since 1992, no NFL team has a better regular season home winning percentage than Kansas City (27-5 (.844) record).

On October 20, 2003, the Chiefs beat the Oakland Raiders (17-10) in a shootout, winning their seventh straight game, which tied a franchise record for consecutive victories. On October 26, 2003, the Chiefs beat the Buffalo Bills (38-5), winning their eight straight game. On November 9, 2003, the Chiefs beat the Cleveland Browns (41-20), winnning their ninth straight game which sets a new franchise record for consecutive victories.

Chiefs of note

Current stars

In the Pro Football Hall of Fame

Retired numbers

Chiefs Hall of Fame

External Link:
Kansas City Chiefs Hall of Fame

style="text-align: left; width: 100%;">
1970 Lamar Hunt, Owner
1971 Mack Lee Hill, Running Back
1972 Jerry Mays, Defensive Tackle
1973 Fred Arbanas, Tight End
1974 Johnny Robinson, Safety
1975 Chris Burford, Receiver
1976 E.J. Holub, Center/Linebacker
1977 Jim Tyrer, Offensive Tackle
1978 Mike Garrett, Running Back
1979 Len Dawson, Quarterback
1980 Bobby Bell, Linebacker
1981 Buck Buchanan, Defensive Tackle
1982 Otis Taylor, Wide Receiver
1983 No induction
1984 Ed Budde, Guard
1985 Willie Lanier, Linebacker
1986 Emmitt Thomas, Cornerback
1987 Hank Stram, Coach
1988 Jerrel Wilson, Punter
1989 Ed Podolak, Running Back
1990 Jim Lynch, Linebacker
1991 Abner Haynes, Running Back
1992 Jan Stenerud, Kicker
1993 Sherrill Headrick, Linebacker
1994 Jack Rudnay, Center
1995 Curtis McClinton, Running Back
1996 Deron Cherry, Safety
1997 Dave Hill, Tackle
1998 Art Still, Defensive End
1999 Lloyd Burruss, Cornerback
2000 Christian Okoye, Running Back
2001 Derrick Thomas, Linebacker
2002 John Alt
2003 Gary Spani, Linebacker

Not to be forgotten


  • Gary Barbaro
  • J. T. Smith
  • Tony Reed
  • Lloyd Burruss
  • Jack Steadman (General Manager)

Related Links