Sparta was an important Greek city-state in the Peloponnesus. It was unique among Greek city-states in that it maintained its Kingship past the Archaic age. It was even more unusual in that it had two kings simultaneously, coming from two separate lines. According to tradition, the two lines ((the Agiads and Eurypontids) descended from the twins Eurysthenes (the Agiads) and Procles the descendants of Heracles who supposedly conquered Sparta two generations after the Trojan War. Although there are lists of the earlier purported Kings of Sparta, there is little evidence for the existence of any kings before the mid 6th Century BC or so

Agiad Kings

Eurypontid Kings

Following Cleomenes III's defeat at the Battle of Sellasia by Antigonus III Doson of Macedon and the Achaean League, the Spartan system began to break down.

  • Agesipolis III (Agiad) 219- 215 BC - the last Agiad King of Sparta.
  • Lycurgus (Eurypontid) 219- 212 BC.
  • Pelops (Eurypontid) 212- 200 BC - last King from either of the old dynasties
  • Nabis (an usurper) 200- 192 BC

After 192 BC, Sparta was annexed by the Achaean League.