The Province of Lapland is a province of Finland, and part of Lapland, which extends into three more countries. It borders to the province of Oulu in the south. It also borders to the Gulf of Bothnia, Russia, Norway and to the County of Norrbotten in Sweden.

Lapland was separated from the province of Oulu in 1936. After the Second World War the Petsamo and Salla areas were ceded to the Soviet Union.

Lapin lääni
Lapplands län
Residence cityRovaniemi
GovernorHannele Pokka
Historical provinces Lapponia
 - Total
Ranked 1st
98,946 km²
 - Total (2002)
 - Density
Ranked 5th
2 / km²

Historical Provinces

For History, Geography and Culture see: Lapponia and Ostrobothnia


Main article: State Provincial Office of Lapland

The State Provincial Office is a joint regional authority of seven different ministries. It promotes national and regional objectives of the State central administration.


Main article: Regions of Finland

The province of Lapland contains only the Lapland (Lapin maakunta). The borders of the province and the region are exactly the same.


Main article: Municipalities of Lapland

Lapland is divided into 22 municipalities, including the towns of Rovaniemi, Kemi, Kemijärvi and Tornio.


Main article: Heraldry of Lapland

The coat of arms of Lapland is composed of the arms of Lapponia and Ostrobothnia.

See also: Lapland, Län

External links