Laval is a city in southwestern Quebec, Canada, in the greater Montreal area. It is located on Île Jésus, across the Rivière des Prairies from Montreal. It also includes the Îles-Laval in the Rivière des Prairies. The city has a population of 330,393 (Statistics Canada, 1996).

Laval was named after the first owner of Île Jésus, François de Montmorency-Laval, the first Roman Catholic Bishop of Quebec. It was incorperated in 1965 when the Quebec government merged the 14 municipalities that comprised Laval County:

  • Chomedey
  • Duvernay
  • Laval-des-Rapides
  • Laval-Ouest
  • Pont-Viau
  • Sainte-Rose
  • Auteuil
  • Fabreville
  • Laval-sur-le-Lac
  • Sainte-Dorothée
  • Saint-François
  • Saint-Vincent-de-Paul
  • Vimont
  • Îles-Laval

Laval constitutes one of the 17 regions of Quebec.

Bois-des-Filion, Terrebonne
Rosemere, Broisbriand, Saint-Eustache
Laval East: Montreal
South: Montreal