The Brazilian monarchs were the rulers of Brazil from its discovery in 1500 until 1889. There are three main stages in the dynastical history of Brazil: Brazil as part of the Kingdom of Portugal (1500-1815), the Kingdom of Brazil (1815-1822) and the Empire of Brazil (1822-1889).

Brazil was officially discovered on April 22, 1500 and based on the Treaty of Tordesilhas, it became a possession of Portugal. The Kings of Portugal then were the Monarchs in Brazil until Napoleon's invading army forced the Portuguese government to flee to Brazil in 1807. On December 16, 1815 the regent D. Joćo VI raised Brazil to the status of a kingdom and thus making his mother, the reigning Queen, the first Monarch of Brazil. Having proclaimed independence from Portugal in 1822, Pedro I, son of Joćo VI, was crowned Emperor of Brazil on December 1, 1822.

Table of contents
1 Monarchs in Brazil (1500-1815)
2 Monarchs of Brazil (1815-1822)
3 Emperors of Brazil (1822-1889)
4 See also

Monarchs in Brazil (1500-1815)

House of Aviz
House of Habsburg House of Braganza

Monarchs of Brazil (1815-1822)

Emperors of Brazil (1822-1889)

  • Pedro I (1822 - 1831)
  • Pedro II (1831 - 1889)
    • Regźncia Provisória (Regency 1831)
    • Regźncia Permanente (Regency 1831-1835)
    • Diogo Antōnio Feijó (Regency 1835-1837)
    • Pedro de Araśjo Lima (Regency 1837-1840).

See also