List of Christian denominations ordered by historical and doctrinal relationships. (See also: Christianity; Christianity: Denominations)

Table of contents
1 Orthodox Catholic Churches
2 Celtic Christianity
3 Churches in full communion with the Roman See
4 Nestorian Churches
5 Protestantism and descendant churches
6 Restorationism
7 Gnosticism
8 Various Nontrinitarian
9 New Thought churches

Orthodox Catholic Churches

Celtic Christianity

Churches in full communion with the Roman See

  • Roman Catholic Church
  • Eastern Catholic Churches
    • Belarussian Church (Byzantine rite)
    • Bulgarian Church (Byzantine rite)
    • Croatian Church (Byzantine rite)
    • Georgian Church (Byzantine rite)
    • Greek Church (Byzantine rite)
    • Hungarian Church (Byzantine rite)
    • Latin or Roman Church (Roman rite)
    • Melkite (Byzantine rite)
    • Romanian Church (Byzantine rite)
    • Russian Church (Byzantine rite)
    • Ruthenian Church (Byzantine rite)
    • Serbian Church (Byzantine rite)
    • Slovak Church (Byzantine rite)
  • Uniate Church (Byzantine Church)
  • Neouniate Church
  • (other rites)
  • (historically related, but no longer in full communion)

Nestorian Churches

Protestantism and descendant churches


  • Episcopal Church
    • Anglican Communion
      • Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia
      • Anglican Church of Australia
      • Anglican Church of Canada
      • Anglican Church of Kenya
      • Anglican Church of Korea
      • Anglican Church of Papua New Guinea
      • Church in Wales
      • Church of England
      • Church of Ireland
      • Church of Nigeria
      • Church of Uganda
      • Church of the Province of Burundi
      • Church of the Province of Central Africa
      • Church of the Province of Melanesia
      • Church of the Province of Myanmar
      • Church of the Province of Rwanda
      • Church of the Province of South East Asia
      • Church of the Province of Southern Africa
      • Church of the Province of Tanzania
      • Church of the Province of the Indian Ocean
      • Church of the Province of the West Indies
      • Church of the Province of West Africa
      • Episcopal Church in Jerusalem and the Middle East
      • Episcopal Church
      • Episcopal Church of Cuba
      • Episcopal Church of the Sudan
      • Hong Kong Sheng Kung Hui
      • Iglesia Anglicana de la Region Central America
      • Iglesia Anglicana de México
      • Iglesia Anglicana del Cono Sud de las Americas
      • Igreja Episcopal do Brasil
      • Lusitanian Church of Portugal
      • Nippon Sei Ko Kai (Japan)
      • Philippine Episcopal Church
      • Scottish Episcopal Church
      • Spanish Reformed Episcopal Church
    • Schismatic (or "continuing") Anglican Churches
      • African Orthodox Church
      • African Orthodox Church of the West
      • African Orthodox Episcopal Church
      • American Episcopal Church
      • Anglican Mission in America
      • Anglican Province of Christ the King
      • Charismatic Episcopal Church
      • Communion of Evangelical Episcopal Churches
      • Free Church of England
      • Free Protestant Episcopal Church
      • Reformed Episcopal Church
      • Southern Episcopal Church


United Society of Believers in Christ's Second Appearing (Shakers)

United / Uniting churches

  • China Christian Council
Church of Bangladesh
Church of Pakistan
Church of North India
Church of South India
Evangelical Church in Germany
United Church of Canada
United Church of Christ
Uniting Church in Australia


* The largest of these churches, headquarted in Salt Lake City, Utah, sometimes called the LDS Church; commonly, but incorrectly called the Mormon Church
** formerly the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints or RLDS Church


Various Nontrinitarian

* Independent Affiliate of the Unitarian Universalist Association
** Alternatively categorized as one of the New Thought churches

New Thought churches