List of Rhode Island counties:
  1. Bristol County: formed in 1747 from land gained from Bristol County, Massachusetts after resolution of a boundary dispute between the two colonies. County seat: Bristol
  2. Kent County: formed in 1750 from part of Providence Plantations County. County seat: East Greenwich
  3. Newport County: formed as Rhode Island County in 1703. Renamed Newport County in 1729. County seat: Newport
  4. Providence County: formed in 1703 as Providence Plantations County. Renamed Providence County in 1729. County seat: Providence
  5. Washington County: formed in 1729 as Kings County from Providence Plantations County. Renamed Washington County in 1781. County seat: West Kingstown