National Nature Reserves in England are managed by English Nature and are key places for wildlife and natural features in England. They were established to protect the most important areas of habitat and of geological formations. NNRs are managed on behalf of the nation, not always by English Nature themselves, but sometimes by non-governmental organisations such as the members of The Wildlife Trusts partnership, the National Trust, the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds or others.

There are over 200 NNRs in England covering over 80,000 hectares and practically every kind of landscape. Often they contain rare species or nationally important species of plants, insects, butterflies, birds, mammals etc.

From these 200+ reserves, English Nature has selected 31 as "Spotlight Reserves":

  • Aston Rowant NNR
  • Bridgwater Bay NNR
  • Barnack Hills & Holes NNR
  • Castle Eden Dene NNR
  • Derbyshire Dales NNR, Derbyshire
  • Duncombe Park NNR
  • East Dartmoor Woods and Heaths NNR
  • Fenn's, Whixall and Bettisfield Mosses NNR
  • Finglandrigg Woods NNR
  • Golitha Falls NNR
  • Holkham NNR, Norfolk
  • Humberhead Peatlands NNR
  • Ingleborough NNR
  • Kingley Vale NNR
  • Lindisfarne NNR
  • The Lizard NNR
  • Lower Derwent Valley NNR
  • Saltfleetby-Thiddlethorpe Dunes NNR
  • Shapwick Heath NNR
  • South Solway Mosses NNR, Cumbria
  • Stiperstones NNR
  • Stodmarsh NNR
  • Studland and Godlingston Heath NNR
  • Teesmouth NNR, Teesside
  • Thursley NNR
  • Moorhouse - Upper Teesdale NNR
  • Walberswick NNR, Suffolk
  • Wicken Fen NNR
  • Wye NNR
  • Wyre Forest NNR, Lancashire

See: See also: