National Scenic Area is a conservation designation specifically for Scotland, administered by Scottish Natural Heritage. NSAs are defined as having outstanding scenic interest or unsurpassed attractiveness. They are the Scottish equivalent of AONBs (Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Full List of NSAs

  • Deeside and Lochnagar
Argyll & Bute Dumfries and Galloway
  • East Stewartry Coast
  • Fleet Valley
  • Nith Estuary
  • Assynt-Coigach
  • Ben Nevis and Glen Coe
  • Dornoch Firth
  • Glen Affric
  • Glen Strathfarrar
  • Kintail
  • Knoydart
  • Kyle of Tongue
  • Loch Shiel
  • Morar, Moidart and Ardnamurchan
  • North West Sutherland
  • The Cairngorm Mountains
  • The Cuillin Hills
  • Small Isles

North Ayrshire Orkney
  • Hoy and West Mainland

Perth and Kinross
  • Loch Rannoch and Glen Lyon
  • Loch Tummel
  • River Earn (Comrie to St. Fillan)
  • River Tay (Dunkeld)

Shetland Isles Stirling
  • The Trossachs

The Borders
  • Eildon and Leaderfoot
  • Upper Tweeddale

Western Isles

See also: