North Lincolnshire is a unitary authority in England, established in April 1996, one of the first unitary councils. It had previously been administered as part of Humberside. The 85,000 ha council area lies on the south side of the Humber estuary and consists mainly of agricultural land, including land on either side of the River Trent. It borders onto North East Lincolnshire, Lincolnshire, and North Yorkshire. For ceremonial purposes it is treated as part of Lincolnshire, and is in the governmental region of Yorkshire and the Humber.

There are three significant towns - Scunthorpe, the administrative centre, Barton-on-Humber, and Brigg.

Towns and villages

  • Alkborough, Amcotts, Appleby
  • Barrow Haven, Bonby, Bottesford, Brigg, Broughton, Burton Stather, Burton upon Stather
  • Cadney, Crowle, Croxton
  • Ealand, East Butterwick, East Halton, Eastoft, Elsham, Epworth, Epworth Turbary
  • Fockerby
  • Garthorpe, Goxhill Haven, Gunness
  • Hibaldstow, Howsham
  • Keadby, Kingsforth, Kirmington, Kirton in Lindsey
  • Manton, Melton Ross, Messingham, Mill Place
  • New Holland, North Killingholme
  • Sandtoft, Santon, Saxby All Saints, Scawby, Scunthorpe, South End, South Killingholme, Sturton
  • Thornton Curtis
  • Ulceby, Ulceby Skitter
  • Walcot, West Butterwick, West Halton, Whitton, Winterton, Wootton, Worlaby, Wressle
  • Yaddlethorpe

Places of interest