North Yorkshire is a county within the region of Yorkshire and the Humber in England. It is divided into the districts of Craven, Hambleton, Harrogate, Richmondshire, Ryedale, Scarborough and Selby. York used to be part of it, but is now part of the independent county of York.

North Yorkshire borders the East Riding of Yorkshire, York, South Yorkshire, West Yorkshire, Lancashire, Cumbria, Durham, Darlington, Stockton-on-Tees, Middlesbrough, and Redcar and Cleveland.

Contained within its boundaries are the North York Moors and most of the Yorkshire Dales, two of eleven areas of countryside within England and Wales to be officially designated as a National Park.

Towns and villages

  • Borrowby
  • Catterick, Catterick Bridge
  • Dalton, Richmond, North Yorkshire, Dalton, Sowerby, North Yorkshire
  • Easingwold, Embsay
  • Filey
  • Giggleswick, Great Ayton
  • Harrogate, Hebden, Helmsley, Helperby, Horton-in-Ribblesdale
  • Ingleton
  • Kettlewell, Kirkbymoorside, Knaresborough
  • Leyburn, Linton, Long Marston, Lund
  • Malham, Marton, Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire, Marton, Pickering, North Yorkshire, Masham, Middleham
  • Newbiggin, Askrigg, North Yorkshire, Newbiggin, Aysgarth, North Yorkshire, Northallerton
  • Osmotherley
  • Ravenscar, Richmond, Rievaulx, Ripon, Robin Hood's Bay
  • Scarborough, Selby, Settle, Skipton, Sowerby, Stokesley
  • Tadcaster, Thirsk
  • Whitby

Places of interest

External links