The Province of Oulu is a province of Finland. It borders to the provinces of Lapland, Western Finland and Eastern Finland. It also borders to the Gulf of Bothnia.

The province of Oulu was first introduced in 1775. After the Treaty of Fredrikshamn parts of Lapland were added to the province and in 1922 Petsamo was added to the province. Finally in 1936 Lapland was separated into its own province.

Oulun lääni
Uleåborgs län
Residence cityOulu
GovernorEino Siuruainen
Historical province Ostrobothnia
 - Total
Ranked 3rd
57,000 km²
 - Total (2002)
 - Density
Ranked 4th
8 / km²

Historical Province

For History, Geography and Culture see: Ostrobothnia


Main article: State Provincial Office of Oulu

The State Provincial Office is a joint regional authority of seven different ministries. It promotes national and regional objectives of the State central administration.


Main article: Regions of Finland

The province of Oulu contains the Northern Ostrobothnia (Pohjois-Pohjanmaa/ Norra Österbotten) and the Kainuu (Kainuu/ Kajanaland).


Main article: Municipalities of Oulu

The province has 51 municipalities including the city of Oulu.


Main article: Heraldry of Oulu

External links

  • Oulu - State Provincial Office