Paramita (Sanskrit) or Parami (Pali): Lit. Perfection of character or Salvation. In Buddhism, these disciplines are cultivated by Bodhisattvas for crossing from sensuous life to Nirvana.

The paramitas are usually listed as ten:

  1. generosity
  2. morality
  3. renunciation
  4. wisdom
  5. energy
  6. patience
  7. truthfulness
  8. determination
  9. loving-kindness
  10. equanimity

Other enumerations of the paramitas are also common.