Portuguese Timor is the former name (1596 - 1975) of East Timor when it was under Portuguese administration. During this period, Portugal shared Timor island with the Dutch East Indies and, after 1949, Indonesia. Portuguese Timor ceased to be called in that way in 1975, after the Indonesian invasion following the unilateral declaration of independence of East Timor, although technically only on May 20, 2002 did Portuguese Timor cease to exist.

See also: History of East Timor