Shetland Islands (sometimes historically spelled Zetland, formerly Hjaltland) is one of 32 unitary council regions in Scotland. It is a Scottish island group between the Orkney Islands and the Faroe Islands north of mainland Britain. Total area is approximately 1469km2, the administrative centre and largest town is Lerwick.

The Shetlands were originally a Norwegian colony, and were pawned to the crown of Scotland on February 20, 1472.

Main islands are:

  • Mainland
  • Yell
  • Unst
  • Fetlar

Nearby are Foula and Fair Isle.

Famous places:

  • Mousa broch
  • Jarlshof settlement

Main Industries: Language:

External links