Site of Special Scientific Interest or SSSI is a conservation designation denoting the lowest level of protected area in the United Kingdom.

Table of contents
1 Legal status
2 List of SSSIs

Legal status

SSSIs are defined as any land of special interest because of its fauna, flora, geological or physiographical features.

The designation can be made by English Nature, Scottish Natural Heritage, the Countryside Council for Wales or the Environment and Heritage Service (Northern Ireland).

The legal framework for SSSIs was provided by the Wildlife and Countryside Acts of 1981 and 1985, and the protection of SSSIs was enhanced by the Countryside and Rights of Way Act of 2000.

List of SSSIs

SSSIs in England

  • SSSIs in the Somerset Levels:
    • Brean Down
    • Bridgwater Bay
    • Catcott, Edington and Chilton Moors
    • Cheddar Reservoir
    • Curry and Hay Moors
    • King's Sedgemoor
    • Langmead and Weston Level
    • Moorlinch
    • North Moor
    • Shapwick Heath
    • Southlake Moor
    • Street Heath
    • Tealham and Tadham Moor
    • West Moor
    • West Sedgemoor
    • Westhay Heath
    • Westhay Moor
    • Wet Moor

  • SSSIs in Norfolk:
  • SSSIs in Sheffield:
    • Ladies Spring Wood
    • Loxley and Wadsey
    • Middlewood Hospital
    • Rivelin Valley

SSSIs in Scotland

SSSIs in Wales

SSSIs in Northern Ireland