Targa Tasmania is a a tarmac-based rally racing event held on the island state of Tasmania, Australia, annually since 1991. The event takes its name from the Targa Florio, a former motoring event held on the island of Sicily.

The rally started as a five day event, expanded to six days in 1994.

  • Leg 0 (prologue) - George Town to Launceston.
  • Leg 1 The Northern loop - Launceston - Devonport - Launceston
  • Leg 2 The North east loop - Launceston - Bicheno - Launceston
  • Leg 3 The Southern loop - Launceston - Cygnet - Hobart
  • Leg 4 Hobart to Mole Creek to Burnie
  • Leg 5 The West Coast Enduro - Burnie - Queenstown - Hobart

The Targa is not part of the Australian rally championship, and as well as attracting elite drivers going all-out to win has a large field of cars of all speeds and drivers of varying seriousness. The rally prides itself on having a large range of rally cars from all ages of motoring - in the past they have included:

Modern cars:

Classic cars: Past and current competitors have included Sir Jack Brabham, Dick Johnson, Peter Brock, Glenn Ridge, Eric Bana, Jim Richards, Barry Sheene, Michael Doohan, and Murray Walker.

External link: http://www.targa.org.au