Tel-Aviv University (TAU) is one of Israel's major universities.

TAU was founded in 1956 when the Tel Aviv School of Law and Economics, an Institute of Natural Sciences, and an Institute of Jewish Studies joined together to form the University.

TAU received it's autonomy from the Tel-Aviv municipalty in 1963, when it's campus in the northern Tel-aviv neighborhood of Ramat-Aviv was established.

TAU is comprised of nine faculties, 106 departments, and 90 research institutes.

  • The nine faculties are (in no particular order):
    • Katz Faculty of the Arts
    • Fleischman Faculty of Engineering
    • Sackler Faculty of Exact Sciences
    • Entin Faculty of Humanities
    • Buchmann Faculty of Law
    • Wise Faculty of Life Sciences
    • Faculty of Management
    • Sackler Faculty of Medicine
    • Gordon Faculty of Social Sciences

  • Some other university schools and programs include (very partial):
    • Goldschleger School of Dental Medicine
    • School of Education
    • Porter School of Environmental Studies
    • Shapell School of Social Work
    • The Lowy School for Overseas Students

Tel Aviv University maintains links with Jewish communities abroad, offering programs of Jewish studies to teachers and students from the United States, France, Brazil, Argentina and Mexico.

The Lowy School for Overseas Students gives young people from different countries the opportunity to study at Tel Aviv University. The program is in English and also offers the opportunity to live and study on kibbutz.

  • Other study opportunities for students from abroad are:
    • a Master's Program in Middle Eastern Studies
    • a Master's Program in Biblical Archaeology
    • a Summer Law Program co-sponsored by Temple University Law School
    • the Sackler School of Medicine New York State/American Program
    • the Wharton-Recanati-INSEAD-York Project in Management
    • the International Executive MBA Program with the Kellogg School, Northwestern University
    • the High-Tech Management School.

External links