The Scorpions is a rock band, originally from Hanover, Germany.

The Scorpions reached the summit of their fame in 1984, with the release of the album Love at First Sting, which included the single "Still Loving You". The Scorpions remained a driving force in rock through the early 1990s with the release of the Crazy World CD and the hit single "Winds of Change", one of their most successful hits, which tells about the changes occurring in Eastern Europe.

They were the first western group to play in the former Soviet Union.

On July 21, 1990 they joined many other guests for Roger Waters' massive performance of The Wall in Berlin. They performed both versions of "In The Flesh" from The Wall.

Current band members:

Klaus Meine (vocals)
Matthias Jabs (guitars)
Rudolf Schenker (guitars)
Ralph Rieckermann (bass)
James Kottak (drums)

Past band members include:
Michael Schenker (guitars)
Ulrich Roth (guitars)
Lothar Heinburg (bass)
Francis Buchholz (bass)
Ken Taylor (bass)
Wolfgang Dziony (drums)
Jurgen Rosenthal (drums)
Rudy Lenners (drums)
Herman Rarebell (drums)
Curt Cress (drums)

Albums include:
  • Lonesome Crow (1972)
  • Fly to the Rainbow (1974)
  • In Trance (1975)
  • Virgin Killer (1976)
  • Taken by Force (1977)
  • Tokyo Tapes (Best of, Live recording, 1978)
  • Lovedrive (1979)
  • Animal Magnetism (1980)
  • Blackout (1982)
  • Love a First Sting (1984)
  • World Wide Live (Best of, Live recording, 1985)
  • Savage Amusement (1988)
  • The Best of Rockers 'n' Ballads (Best of, 1989)
  • Crazy World (1990)
  • Face the Heat (1993)
  • Live Bites (Live recording, 1995)
  • Pure Instinct (1996
  • Deadly Sting - The Mercury Years (Best of, 1997)
  • Eye II Eye (1999)
  • 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection: The Best of Scorpions (Best of, 2001)

External link

For other meanings, see scorpion