zh-cn:三国 zh-tw:三国

''This article is about "Three Kingdoms" in China. For other "Three Kingdoms", please refer to Three Kingdoms (disambiguation).

 This article is part of the
History of China series.
 Shang Dynasty
 Zhou Dynasty
 Qin Dynasty
 Han Dynasty
 Three Kingdoms
 Jin Dynasty
 Southern and Northern Dynasties
 Sui Dynasty 
 Tang Dynasty
 Five Dynasties and Ten Kingdoms Period
 Song Dynasty
 Yuan Dynasty
 Ming Dynasty
 Qing Dynasty
 History of the Republic of China
 History of the PRC (1949-1976)
 History of the PRC (1976-present)
 Timeline of Chinese History

The Three Kingdoms (Traditional Chinese characters: 三國, Simplified Chinese characters: 三国, pinyin Sānguó) (220 - 265) refers to a period of time after the fall of the Han Dynasty in China, marked by the struggle of three rival kingdoms: the Kingdom of Wei, the Kingdom of Shu, and the Kingdom of Wu for control of China. Each kingdom's ruler called himself "emperor" and believed that his "empire" should be the true successor of the Han Dynasty.

Of the three, Wei was always the most powerful kingdom. It conquered the Shu kingdom in 263. By this time the Sima clan had effectively wrested control of Wei away from the Cao family; Sima Yan formally seized the throne in 265 and established the Jin Dynasty (265-420). In 280, Sima Yan succeeded in conquering the Wu kingdom and reunifying China.

The famous Chinese epic Romance of Three Kingdoms was based on this period. The authoritative historical record of this era is the Chronicles of the Three Kingdoms.

Major battles

Major Campaigns and Events

See also

External links