Tianjin (天津 also spelt Tientsin, literally meaning "Heavenly Port") is a municipalities and an important harbour city in China on the Hai He river (from Beijing) and Bohai Gulf of the Yellow Sea (Pacific Ocean).

Province Abbreviation(s):津
 - Total
 - % water
Ranked xth
11,000 km²
 - Total (Year)
 - Density
Ranked 27th
Administration Type Municipality

Table of contents
1 Administration
2 History
3 Geography
4 Political divisions
5 Colleges and universities
6 External link


Tianjin is one of four independent municipalities in the People's Republic of China with provincial-level status. Historically, the city was the capital of the Zhili (present Hebei) province.

  • 1731: Tianjin County
  • July 1912: Tianjin Subprefecture
  • April 1913: reverted to count
  • June 1928: Tianjin Special City
  • June 1930: Tianjin Municipality
  • November 1930: degraded to province-governed city and became the capital of Hebei (which was in Beijing)
  • June 1935: restored to municipality (Hebei capital moved to Baoding)
  • February 11, 1958: degraded to province-governed city and became the capital of Hebei
  • January 2, 1967: restored to municipality


The city first gained its name in 1404 A.D. during Ming Dynasty when a fort was established at the location. The fort was named Tianjin Wei (Fort Tianjin). The city was opened to foreign trade in June 1858, at the end of the first part of the Second Opium War, when the Treaties of Tianjin were signed.


Tianjin is at the northern end of the Grand Canal of China, which connects with the Huang He and Chang Jiang rivers. Tianjin borders Hebei province and Beijing and the Bohai Gulf of the Yellow Sea.

Political divisions

Tianjin is divided into fifteen districts and three counties The six districts close to the "urban region" (市区) are
  • Heping District (和平区)
  • Hexi District (河西区)
  • Hebei District (河北区)
  • Nankai District (南开区)
  • Hedong District (河东区)
  • Hongqiao District (红桥区)

The outer districts and counties: The "Seaside region" (滨海区):
  • Tanggu District (塘沽区)
  • Hangu District (汉沽区)
  • Dagang District (大港区)

The "region around city" (环城区) are:
  • Jinnan District (津南区)
  • Dongli District (东丽区)
  • Xiqing District (西青区)
  • Baodi District (宝坻区, Baodi County before 2001)
  • Beichen District (北辰区)
  • Wuqing District (武清区, Wuqing County before 2000)

The counties:
  • Ji County (蓟县)
  • Jinghai County (静海县)
  • Ninghe County (宁河县)

Colleges and universities

External link