The Treaty of Paris, February 10, 1763, was signed by the Kingdom of Great Britain, France and Spain together with the Treaty of Hubertusburg to end the French and Indian War and the Seven Years' War. The treaties marked the beginning of an extensive period of British dominance outside of Europe.

Preferring to keep Guadaloupe, France gave up Canada to Britain and all claims to territory east of the Mississippi. Spain ceded Florida to the British but gained New Orleans and Louisiana from France, and Cuba and the Philippines were restored to Spain. France retained Saint Pierre and Miquelon and recovered Guadeloupe and Martinique in exchange for Grenada and the Grenadines going to the British. In India the French lost out to the British as well.

It is sometimes claimed that the British King George III renounced his claim to be King of France by the treaty. However, this a historical myth, and it is also falsely attributed to some of the treaties of the French Revolutionary Wars. Such a renunciation is nowhere in the text of the treaty, and in fact George III continued to be styled "King of France" and used the fleurs-de-lis as part of his arms until 1801 when Britian and Ireland united. It was dropped then because it was simply regarded as anachronistic, not because of French pressure.

See also: Treaty of Paris

External link: Full text of the treaty