The Tribe of Joseph is not usually listed with the Hebrew tribes although Joseph is regarded as one of the Three Patriarchs of Israel.

Rather, the two tribes founded by his sons Ephraim and Manassah are listed separately. This is so that when the Levites are omitted, the number of tribes still comes to twelve. See Tribe of Ephraim, Tribe of Manassah.