The United Arab Emirates (formerly the Trucial States) is an oil-rich desert country situated in the south-east of the Arabian Pensinsula, comprised of seven emirates: Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujirah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm al-Qaiwain. It neighbours Oman, Saudi Arabia and Qatar.

الإمارات العربيّة المتّحدة
Dawlat Al-Amarat Al-'Arabiyya
(In Detail) ()
National motto: None
Official language: Arabic
Capital city: Abu Dhabi
Largest city: Abu Dhabi
Land area 82,880 kmē
 - Total (2000)
 - Density
Ranked 114th
PresidentZayid bin Sultan Al Nuhayyan
Independence declared 2 December, 1971
Currency UAE dirham
Time zone UTC +4
National anthem Arabic Emirati Tahiat Alalam
Internet TLD .AE
Calling code 971

Table of contents
1 History
2 Politics
3 Economy
4 Emirates
5 Geography
6 Demographics
7 Culture
8 Miscellaneous topics


Main article: History of the United Arab Emirates

The Trucial States of the Persian Gulf coast granted the United Kingdom control of their defense and foreign affairs in nineteenth-century treaties. In 1971, six of these states - Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Fujairah, Sharjah, Dubai, and Umm al-Qaiwain - merged to form the United Arab Emirates. They were joined in 1972 by Ras al-Khaimah.


Main article: Politics of the United Arab Emirates

The Supreme Council consists of the rulers of the seven emirates. The President and Vice-President are elected by the Supreme Council every five years. The Supreme Council also elects the Council of Ministers, while a 40-member Federal National Council, drawn from all the emirates, reviews proposed laws. There is a federal court system; all emirates except Dubai and Ras al-Khaimah have joined the federal system; all emirates have secular and Islamic law for civil, criminal, and high courts.


Main article: Economy of the United Arab Emirates

The UAE's wealth is largely based on oil and gas output, some 33% of GDP. It is the third largest oil producer in the Gulf after Saudi Arabia and Iran. Since 1973, the UAE has undergone a profound transformation from an impoverished region of small desert principalities to a modern state with a high standard of living. The country's per capita GDP is not far below the GDPs of the leading West European nations. Its generosity with oil revenues and its moderate foreign policy stance have allowed it to play a vital role in the affairs of the region.


Main article Emirates of the United Arab Emirates

The UAE comprises the following seven emirates:


Main article:
Geography of the United Arab Emirates

The UAE lies in the Middle East, bordering the Gulf of Oman and the Persian Gulf, between Oman and Saudi Arabia. It is a flat, barren coastal plain merging into rolling sand dunes of vast desert wasteland; with mountains in the east. Its strategic location along southern approaches to the Strait of Hormuz makes it a vital transit point for world crude oil.


Main article: Demographics of the United Arab Emirates

The UAE's population of almost 2.4 million contains some 1.6 million non-nationals - indeed 50% of the population is South Asian. The population growth rate is low compared to its neighbours. Religious beliefs are almost exclusively Muslim. Around 80% of the population can read and write.


Main article: Culture of the United Arab Emirates

Rooted in Islamic culture, the UAE has strong ties with the rest of the Arab world. The government are committed to preserving traditional forms of art and culture, including via the Abu Dhabi Cultural Foundation. Change is apparent in social life however - attitudes towards women are shifting, and new sports are becoming popular alongside traditional camel racing.

DateEnglish NameLocal Name
1 JanuaryNew Year's Day 
Varies Eid-ul-Adha
VariesIslamic New YearEl am Hejir
Varies Ashura - Muharrum/Dr.Babu Jagjivan Ram
VariesProphet's BirthdayEid-Milad Nnabi
August 6Accession of H.H. Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan-al Nahyan 
VariesAscension of MohammedLailat al Miraj
December 2National Day 
VariesEnd of RamadanEid Al Fitr

Miscellaneous topics