Four ships of the United States Navy have been named USS Illinois in honor of the 21st state.

The first USS Illinois (sloop), a screw sloop-of war, was laid down but never completed.

The second USS Illinois (BB-7), lead ship of her class of battleship, served for over half a century and was eventually renamed Prairie State.

The third USS Illinois was a diesel-powered trawler acquired by the Navy, renamed USS Albatross (AM-71), and employed as a minesweeper.

The fourth USS Illinois (BB-65), would have been a Iowa-class battleship, if her construction had not been cancelled before she was launched.