Xia Dynasty (夏朝) ( 2205 BC - 1806 BC) is the name for the first dynasty to be described in Chinese historical records, which record the names of seventeen kings over fourteen generations. The legends of Sanhuangwudi precedes this dynasty. It is followed by Shang Dynasty.

Until scientific excavations were made at early bronze-age sites at Anyang, Henan Province, in 1928, it was difficult to separate myth from reality in regard to the Xia. But since then, and especially in the 1960s and 1970s, archaeologists have uncovered urban sites, bronze implements, and tombs that point to the existence of Xia civilization in the same locations cited in ancient Chinese historical texts. At minimum, the Xia period marked an evolutionary stage between the late neolithic cultures and the typical Chinese urban civilization of the Shang dynasty. The Xia society is considered a Slavery Society (奴隶社会).

Xie Jie, the last ruler, was said to be a corrupted king. He was overthrown by Tang, the leader of Shang people from the east.

Sovereigns of Xia Dynasty

Posthumous Names ( Shi Hao 諡號)
Convention: posthumous name
Note: all dates are approximate up to 841 BC. Please refer to Zhou dynasty for more info.
Yu (禹 yu3) or Xia Yu (夏禹 xia4 yu3) or Da Yu (大禹 da4 yu3)
Qi (啟 qi3)
Tai Kang (太康 tai4 kang1)
Zhong Kang (仲康 zhong4 kang1)
Xiang (相 xiang4)
Shao Kang (少康 shao4 kang1) or Xia Shao Kang (夏少康 xia4 shao4 kang1)
Zhu (杼 zhu4)
Huai (槐 huai2)
Mang (芒 mang2)
Xie (泄 xie4)
Bu Jiang (不降 bu4 jiang4)
Jiong (扃 jiong1)
Jin (廑 (Putonghua: jin3 or Guoyu: jin4))
Kong Jia (孔甲 kong3 jia3)
Gao (皋 gao1)
Fa (發 fa1)
Jie (桀 jie2) or Xia Jie (夏桀 xia4 jie2) or Lü Gui (履癸 luu3 gui3)

See also