The New Orleans Saints are a National Football League team based in New Orleans, Louisiana.

First Season: 1967 as an NFL expansion team
Home stadium: Louisiana Superdome, New Orleans, Louisiana
Uniform colors: Black, Old gold, and White
Helmet design: Gold helmet with a black fleur-de-lis
League championships won: none

Franchise history

New Orleans was granted an NFL franchise on 1 November, 1966. John W. Mecom, Jr became the majority stockholder, and the team was named the Saints on 9 January 1967. Despite a 94 yard opening kickoff return for a touchdown by John Gilliam, the Saints lost their first match 27-13 to the Los Angeles Rams. Their first season record was 3-11.

Current Saints owner Tom Benson acquired the franchise in 1985, and hired Jim Finks as general manager and Jim Mora as head coach. That combination provided the Saints with their first ever winning record, 12-3 in 1987.

Current coach Jim Haslett has held the post since 2000, in which year he took the team to the playoffs but lost to the Minnesota Vikings. The Saints failed to make the playoffs in 2001 and 2002, although in the latter year they had the distinction of beating the eventual Super Bowl XXXVII winners Tampa Bay in both their regular season matches.

Players of note

Pro Football Hall of Famers:

Current stars: Retired numbers:

  • Jim Taylor 31
  • Doug Atkins 81

Not to be forgotten:

New Orleans Saints official web site