Leicestershire is a landlocked county in central England. It takes its name from the heavily populated City of Leicester which has traditionally been its administrative centre, but is now a unitary authority separate from Leicestershire. It borders onto Leicester, Rutland, Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire, Warwickshire, Northamptonshire and Staffordshire, and contains part of the National Forest.

The population of Leicestershire (excluding Leicester) is 609,579 (2001 census), prior to the removal of Leicester and Rutland it was 927,500 (1991 census). The county covers an area of 2,084 sq km (804 sq mi)


map shows Leicestershire from 1974-1996
Population:609,578 (2001)
Ethnicity:95% white, 3% indian
Districts:Blaby, Charnwood, Hinckley
Melton, North West,
Oadby, Harborough
Neighbours:Leicester, Lincolnshire,
Rutland, Staffordshire,
MPs:Andrew Robathan
David Tredinnick
Stephen Dorrell
Edward Garnier
Andy Reed, David Taylor
Alan Duncan
Region:East Midlands

Leicestershire is divided into the following districts -

Before 1997, Leicester was a district - and still is treated as part of Leicestershire for some ceremonial purposes. Rutland was a district from 1974 but its integration was unpopular and it was restored as an independent authority and ceremonial county in 1997.

Many services are still run on the 1974 boundaries - the Leicestershire Constabulary covers the entire area, and the three councils collaborate on services such as libraries.

Towns and villages

Places of interest